Home » How To: Changing the Group Setting on an Activity

How To: Changing the Group Setting on an Activity

Once you have an activity added to your course whether that be “advanced uploading of files” , “online text” or “upload a single file” you can set specific group settings within the assignment.

The assignment pages in Moodle will always share a common setting called “group mode” with the three options: No Groups, Separate Groups, Visible Groups.

No Groups: This is the default and means each student will submit independently

Visible Groups: This means the assignment can be set to where the groups will be able to view each other’s work once graded.

Separate Groups: This setting means that the students cannot view the other group’s work once submitted.

These options are based upon what level of interaction you desire for the groups in your course. It is up to you, the instructor, to determine this.